Mumbai Indians defeats Kolkata Knight Riders by 10 runs in their second match at M.A Chidambaram Stadium.

Kolkata knight riders faced Mumbai Indians in their second match of the tournament at M.A Chidambaram Stadium today, where Kolkata won the toss and elected to bowl first. Quinton de Kock replaced Chris Lynn for Mumbai to open alongside captain Rohit Sharma.

Quinton de Kock lost his wicket playing a careless shot for just 2 runs in the very second over of the innings. But Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Sharma handled the situation really well, Rohit scored 43 of 32 deliveries, whereas Suryakumar scored the highest 56 off 36 balls for Mumbai today.

But the loss of their two key batsmen put Mumbai in a difficult situation. Wickets started to fall one by one and cheaply, not a single batsman could turn the poor situation for Mumbai and they got all-out for 152. Andre Russell was the best bowler for KKR today as he took 5 wickets by giving 15 runs in 2 overs.

In reply, Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana opened the innings for Kolkata. Both the batsman provided Kolkata the start they expected, Nitish Rana scored 57 off 47 deliveries whereas his partner Gill scored 33 of 24. And then we saw the same thing getting repeated again, wickets started to fall one by one.

The whole middle over and lower order batsmen fell on single digits and thus caused their first defeat of the campaign. Rahul Chahar was the star bowler for Mumbai Indians as he took 4 wickets by giving just 27 runs in his 4 overs spell. Sunrisers Hyderabad will face Royal Challengers Bangalore tomorrow at M.A Chidambaram Stadium.

Leave a Comment