How to Apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

The flagship program of the Indian government, Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana, or PMAY, was inaugurated in June 2015 with the goal of promoting the notion of “Housing for All.” The program aims to improve the lives of homeless individuals in India. The scheme’s major plan is to build two crore dwellings for low-income families, middle-income groups, and economically disadvantaged persons.

Components of PMAY

Individuals from Economically Weaker Sections (EWS), Lower Income Group (LIG), or Middle Income Group (MIG) are eligible for a loan interest subsidy under PMAY (MIG). People who want to apply for housing projects can do so in any of the four components under PMAY.

  1. Slum dwellers who do not possess a pucca house are the focus of the in-situ rehabilitation component.
  2. Beneficiary-led construction (BLC) is for persons who own their own land and are looking for money to build or renovate a home.
  3. A credit-linked subsidy scheme (CLSS) is a  home loan that is given to a certain group of people depending on their annual income.
  4. Affordable housing in partnership (AHP) is for people who don’t have access to land or can’t afford a home loan.

Who is Eligible for PMAY?

The eligibility is determined by three factors: income, economic strata, and housing needs. The variables listed below will assist you in determining eligibility to apply for the subsidy.

  1. The maximum age limit to apply for the scheme is 70 years.
  2. A pucca house (constructed of high-quality materials that are not affected by weather conditions)  is not owned by you or any member of your family.
  3. Your family consists of you, your spouse, and your unmarried children.
  4. The Economically Weaker Section (EWS) includes households with annual incomes of up to Rs 3 lakh, whereas the Low-Income Group (LIG) includes households with annual incomes of between Rs. 3 and Rs. 6 lakhs. If you fall into one of these categories, you must provide substantial proof of your income or sign an affidavit to be eligible for PMAY funds.
  5. Those with an annual household income of between Rs 6 and Rs 12 lakhs will fall into the Medium Income Group (MIG) 1 category and will be eligible for an interest discount on home loans up to Rs. 9 lakhs.
  6. Individuals with a family income of between Rs. 12 and Rs 18 lakhs per annum will fall under the scheme’s Medium Income Group (MIG) 2 and will be eligible for an interest discount on home loans up to Rs. 12 lakhs.
  7. People from declared minority groups, such as SC/ST/OBC, must present applicable caste and income certificates to be considered for the PMAY scheme.
  8. This is a pro-woman initiative in which female members of a household are given first priority in purchasing a house.
  9. When applying for a ground-floor house, older and disabled people will be given priority over others.

How to Apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

●    Online application for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana?

  1. If you qualify for PMAY, follow the step-by-step guide below to apply online.
  2. Identify the category under which you qualify for PMAY.
  3. Visit the official website:
  4. Click on ‘Citizen Assessment’ under the main menu and select the applicant category.
  5. You will be redirected to a different page where you must enter your Aadhaar details.
  6. Fill out the online PMAY application with your personal income, bank account details, and current residential address.
  7. Enter the captcha code, verify the details for accuracy, and submit it.
  8. You can track the application status later on by clicking on ‘Track your Assessment Status’ under ‘Citizen Assessment’.

●    Offline application for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

If you are unable to apply online, Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana also supports an offline application.

  1. Visit a state government-run Common Service Center and fill up the application form for just Rs.25 plus GST.
  2. Do note that no private centers or banks are allowed to accept offline PMAY applications.

 PMAY: Documents  Required for Application

In order to purchase a home under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana, the beneficiary must provide the following documentation (PMAY documents list)

  • Completed application form
  • PAN Card/Aadhar Card/Voter ID Card/Driving License/MNREGA No. Any Other Number or House Ownership Certificate from Revenue Authority of Beneficiary’s Native District, etc.
  • Identification of Nationality
  • Certificate of Caste/Proof of Category (whether SC/ST/OBC/Minority)
  • Proof of Address
  • Original Salary Slip/Salary Certificate/Other Income Proof
  • If applicable, the most recent IT return/IT assessment order/Form No. 16
  • Bank Account Statements for the Previous 6 Months
  • In the case of self-employed people, a note on the type of their business/activity, a self-drawn attested financial statement, and a business license.
  • Affidavit from the beneficiary declaring that neither they nor any of their family members own a pucca house in India.


Housing is a basic human right to which all citizens are entitled. While the wealthy and upper classes can easily afford to buy a property, the bulk of lower-middle-class and impoverished people are still unable to do so. The Government of India proposed the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana to alleviate India’s acute housing crisis, under which roughly two crore homes will be created by 2022 for the underprivileged.